Mother Goose Bids a Fine Farewell to Fear

Valediction to Fear

Yes, you had your arms holding me tight for so many years,
But now it’s time to say “goodbye”.
For most of my life, you whispered in my ear that you loved me and had my best interest in mind;
Now I know you lied.

Fear, you held me close and reminded me that I could not drive long distances.
You told me that expressways are too fast and too dangerous.
What if I had an accident? What if I got a ticket? What if I got lost? What if I got a migraine headache? What if MS suddenly flared up and I got weakness in my limbs?

You warned me about job interviews and the stress of even considering employment.
With great tenderness, you consoled me,
“There’s no need for you to work. Don’t worry about it. You’re actually happier and very fulfilled staying at home with the kids every single day.”

You whispered, “If you really try hard and fail, you will be such a disappointment. You have tried and failed before, remember?”

Failure
Might cause anxiety
Might send me into a state of depression
Might make me feel insecure
Might make me feel inferior
Might upset others
Might disappoint my mother

Fear, you never cared for me. You held me close, but you hated me.

Goodbye, Fear.

Good riddance.

I am Fearless.

time-to-say-good-bye

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty Hebert
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 20:11:08

    Love this!

    Reply

  2. charliesixty
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 20:14:42

    You sure told FEAR where to get off! Well done, Natalie!

    Reply

  3. Bunn
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 05:07:32

    Very good sissy! Way to tell em!

    Reply

  4. Dianna
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 06:41:12

    I love this! (And I’m thinking…..did I know previously that you have MS???? My son was diagnosed in 2008. Did I already share that with you??? I know I haven’t shared it on my blog out of respect for his privacy.)
    We passed by the shipyard yesterday and I took distant photos of the Lincoln. I’ll send one to you!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 09:52:00

      Dianna, you had mentioned your son’s diagnosis before, and I hope and pray that he stays in remission FOREVER! I’d love to see your pix of the Lincoln! THANK YOU!

      Reply

  5. Three Well Beings
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 00:37:47

    You’ve “wowed” me with this, Mother Goose. I’m very moved.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 09:53:22

      Debra, thank you. I was just thinking over the weekend how LITTLE I used to do and how MUCH I can do now. Of course, sometimes I still worry about stuff, but I’m so much braver and COOLER than I used to be. 😀

      Reply

  6. LW
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 22:41:15

    This was a much better topic than the silly ones we were thinking of Natalie. I do love your writing.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Apr 15, 2013 @ 09:40:51

      Thank you, Linda dear. Fare thee well, old Fear.

      Oh wow, I’m a poet and didn’t know it….
      but my feet show it,
      they’re Longfellows…
      😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,142 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
