A Slip and a Fall for Mother Goose

Mother Goose was actually glad that it happened today. It’s always good to get it over with, and then you don’t have to worry about it for another year. Kind of like a gynecological examination.

We’ve been having winter weather this past week — various cocktail mixes of snow, sleet, rain, freezing drizzle, dreezing frizzle, and cloud cover. It’s not entirely unusual weather for our part of the world, but tiresome as it has arrived so late in the winter season.

Fresh snow and sleet will eventually freeze to the sidewalk and be covered with another dusting of snow.  This is called Frosted Black Ice, and it can be hazardous to your health.

Fresh snow and sleet will eventually freeze to the sidewalk and be covered with another dusting of snow. This is called Frosted Black Ice, and it can be hazardous to your health.

It would have been nice if March had come in like a lamb and gone out like a lion — that’s what my dear family in nordern Minnesota is experiencing today — lamb-like weather. They’ve had days, maybe even weeks of sunshine and balmy temps.

But not Mother Goose…

And the cabin fever sets in, you know. Days of sitting in doors, looking out the window, pacing the floor, checking the window, glancing at the clock again, until you have a crick in your neck. How much of an indoor sedentary lifestyle can I take? Not much…

So this morning, despite the freshly fallen snow blanketing the unflavored but frozen slushy sidewalks and the blustery winds, Mother Goose bundled up and harnessed her Good Dog Fran. And out we went to meet whatever may befall us.

We had reached the halfway mark of our Walkie Around the Blockie when suddenly the horizon tilted upward for Mother Goose. I always keep my eyes open when I fall so that I know where I’m going, and this time my vision shifted sharply up, up up as I went backwards and down, down, down.

I saw the end of the block, the gray-draped sky over the houses, the skeletal tree tops and then more sky without even trying.

I felt my backside slamming into the ice-covered walk, my back hitting next, followed by my fur-capped head. Bam. Bam. Bam.

Isn’t it funny when you feel like you are falling in slow motion? I always get a chuckle about that perspective of an accident…

Mother Goose smiles.

So there I was laying on the ice with my Good Dog Fran beside me. She was laughing at me which reminded me that maybe someone else may have witnessed my classic slip and fall.

A quick glance assured me that if I had been observed, it was behind lace curtains. If they were also laughing at me, I wouldn’t hear them which is a good thing. If they were at all concerned, they didn’t show it.

Now it was time to perform a rapid inventory to see if we are okay. And by we, I’m referring to Mother Goose, herself and she.

My primitive goose brain shoots an email to all parts of my immediate body (legs, back, neck, shoulders, elbows, cranial region, wrists) to see if they respond in a timely manner. Happily, everybody replied back with smiley-faced emoticons! I gave my good dog Fran a little pet to assure her that we could continue on towards home.

Mother Goose climbed awkwardly to her feet, testing the ice. Yes, sure enough, it WAS slippery. But I kept my big, rubbery feet underneath of me, and cautiously step by step we arrived safely home.

I gave an immediate report of my accident to my dear husband who rose from his chair to embrace the fallen goose. “Are you OK?” he kindly asked. And then the crushing blow… “You know, we aren’t spring chickens anymore.”

“Honk! Honk! I am!” shouted Mother Goose with much indignation. “I am a spring chicken and I shall remain forever so.”

It’s the positive thinking of a goose that matters after all, doesn’t it?

Do you sometimes smile when you are outside on a snowy, icy wintry day and you see lots of old people out driving and walking around? They’ve gone out to see just how slippery it is out there. And that’s how it will always be for Mother Goose…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 09:59:23

    And if you’d like to remember my last slip and fall, just click here: https://mothergoosesmiles.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/mother-goose-takes-a-little-spill/

    Reply

  2. jeff noel
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:07:32

    Ice and snow… no, no, no…
    Hope you’re ok.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:14:59

      Oh I’m fine. My daughter and I were talking about how I probably fell on purpose just so I’d have something to write about today…

      Reply

  3. Patty Hebert
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:42:51

    Mother Goose please take care

    Reply

  4. Three Well Beings
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:48:08

    Oh my goodness! “Gooseness!” On those occasions when I fall, and it does happen sometimes, I’m always grateful to realize my bones are still apparently strong enough to withstand the shock. I think that ice must have been very hard, so I’m glad you’re okay. But it does signal that perhaps you need to stay indoors a little longer waiting for the thaw! What are you going to do to take care of that cabin fever this weekend? I didn’t know the term “frosted black ice” but it does look treacherous. I’m sorry to laugh at you…but you wrote about your experience from a hilarious perspective! LOL!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 11:00:43

      Well,for gooseness sakes, Debra, I’m sorry to hear that sometimes you fall too… And we simply must take the hilarious route when it comes to storytelling — otherwise I AND my readers would be dozing in their chairs. “Oh yawn, M.Goose fell again…ho hum…”

      Reply

  5. Bunn
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:56:47

    Geez wish I was there to laugh at you!!
    Great story!! Only you could turn a slip and fall into a very interesting story!
    As you recall I had mine already this year! Trying to watch a fire on Main Street! That will teach me to be so nosy! Luckily it was behind a building!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Mar 01, 2013 @ 11:02:41

      Sorry you missed it. I wish just once somebody would have the cameras rolling when I go down. It would be such wonderful slapstick — like Laurel and Hardy or Little Rascals. And you have much more to be concerned about with your falling, so PLZ be careful out there.

      Reply

  6. Dianna
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 13:31:24

    Glad you weren’t hurt, Mother Goose – And I’m sure Fran wasn’t really laughing at you..!

    Reply

  7. LW
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 12:05:24

    I had an incident a couple weeks ago. The facts behind it are much more embarrassing. I will share next time we get together. So glad you had someone with you to put it in perspective.

    Reply

  8. yearstricken
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 17:55:32

    So glad you didn’t get hurt. I walk very, very carefully in winter – penguin style.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,774 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
