Continuing Down Sunset Boulevard…

As I sat completely absorbed in the musical production Sunday afternoon, I felt a small twitch inside of me. The seed of a question began to sprout in my curious heart, the roots growing way down into my bowels and down my legs and into my feet.

By the time the second act of Sunset Boulevard had begun, the question was growing unbearably larger and more uncomfortable until it nearly burst out of my mouth and shouted itself loudly into the audience…

“JUST HOW OLD IS NORMA DESMOND?”

Is she 70? 80? 90? How old is too old when you are a film star? How old is too old anyway? In my life? in anyone’s life?

Perhaps in the back of my mind I was thinking about birthdays. After all we were attending this show with John and Marlene, a lovely married couple, born within days of each other and this was their “Birthday Weekend”. She being the older side of the couple and celebrating sixty trips around the sun, but announcing that she was actually just turning six. She looks much younger than Mother Goose…

Perhaps I was thinking of my friend, Russ who is celebrating his birthday today… His age is unknown to me, but I know he is closer to 100 than I am.

Perhaps I was thinking about something that Joni Eareckson Tada had said about watching old home movies of times before she became paralyzed. Someone asked her if watching those days made her feel sad.

In classic Joni style (positively saintly and encouraging!), she replied, “No, I wouldn’t want to go back to those days. I’m looking forward to the future when I’m in Heaven and completely well and healthy and strong and walking and running in my perfectly glorified body. I’m closer to the future days than I am to the past days.”

I’m thinking that probably I am closer to Heaven than I am to my younger days as well. When we get into our fifties, we have more days behind us than days before us. Is that obvious to every one of my readers over the age of fifty?

None of us knows how many days we have left to stroll down Sunset Boulevard…

So just how old is Norma Desmond? I waited and waited for an answer to this burning question and finally the young man she had dramatically drawn into her life, Joe Gillis, settled it for me, and I quote:

“There’s nothing tragic about being fifty. Not unless you’re trying to be twenty-five.”

Still ready for her close-up, Mr. DeMille...

Still ready for her close-up, Mr. DeMille…

Of course, fifty isn’t fatal.

And I’m sure Mother Goose has a good forty years of stories yet to tell.

But still…

“Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty Hebert
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 14:05:47

    Interesting you should write about “that number.” Today a friend turned 50. I clocked in this morning at 52+. An influential town political go getter sadly and suddenly clocked out at 58 this morning. My clients are in awe of their numbers 92 and 97. They ask me how did we live so long. I smile and say God’s grace and good Italian food. My 50 friend is filled with trepidation at being a 50. A dear 51 chimed in, It’s all good. Just keep smiling. I would have to agree.

    Reply

  2. Bunn
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:02:16

    I can’t decide if I should be scared to turn 50 or welcome it with open arms?

    Reply

  3. Dianna
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:19:22

    You’ve probably heard the old saying: “Age is just a number. And mine is unlisted!”.
    Natalie, I’m SO excited that your sons are moving to Newport News – that’s just across the river from us – probably about 20-30 minutes. We go there several times a week: it’s where the nearest shopping and restaurants are. Hopefully you and I will get to meet one day!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 11:27:07

      Dianna, we would have a delightful visit together I’m sure! My sweet nine-year-old daughter reminds me each and every day of how old I am. I should have kept it unlisted from her especially….

      Reply

  4. Three Well Beings
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 23:29:29

    As long as I have good health I don’t focus too much on the numbers! I plan to be 100 years old one day, and at the rate the calendar pages turn, it doesn’t feel like it will be that long before I get there! šŸ™‚ Meanwhile, I’m grateful for each day and generally pretend I’m younger than I am! I think that’s acceptable!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 11:29:50

      Totally acceptable and admirable, Debra — let’s all get together when we are 100 and pretend that we are in our 50’s. Woohooo wild times!!!

      Reply

  5. Natalie
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 11:39:11

    P.S. Gloria Swanson actually WAS 50 when she made the movie, Sunset Boulevard. I think she looks gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,588 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
