An Apple A Day Keeps the Goose Itching

So many of my faithful readers have asked for the Taffy Apple Salad recipe, and I’m happy to oblige here and now. I only wish I could eat it myself without the terrible discomfort that permeates my body at the ingestion of raw apples… Nonetheless, I know you will enjoy it. Try not to think of Mother Goose scratching her lips, beak, nose, tongue and throat as you are munching on it.

The Taffy Apple Salad of Mother Goose did not look this pretty as she was busy scratching her face instead of garnishing the salad.

Taffy Apple Salad

Ingredients:

1 Large can of pineapple chunks, cut up. Please reserve the natural juices as you will use them in the dressing.
2-1/2 cups of chopped apples, leaving the skin on for prettiness. Any apples will do fine, but I used Honey Crisp.
1 Tablespoon of ordinary flour
1-1/2 Tablespoon of vinegar. I used apple cider vinegar, of course…
1/2 cup of ordinary sugar
1 egg, terribly beaten
8 ounces of Cool Whip, mostly thawed out
2 cups of mini-marshmallows
1-1/2 cups of dry roasted peanuts

Directions:

Please pour the pineapple juice into a medium-sized sauce pan, and turn on the heat about medium-sized as well. Add the flour, vinegar, and sugar, stirring well to remove the little lumpies. Now go ahead and add the beaten up egg, continuing to stir it all together nicely. Bring this mixture to a boil and let it get kind of thick.

Set this warm saucey mixture to the side and let it cool about seven minutes, maybe ten.

In a pretty large bowl, mix together your chopped apples, pineapple chunks, marshmallows (go ahead and eat a few if your want) and peanuts.

When your pineapple sweet sauce is finger-cooled (yes, go ahead and touch it!), fold in the Cool Whip and get it all incorporated into each other. Then simply dump it into the fruity, sweet and salty yummy ingredients in the pretty large bowl. Toss it all around, keeping most of it in the bowl.

Cover it up and put it in the fridge for awhile. It’s really best when it’s really cold. Serve it to your family and friends with a big smile on your face because you are about to eat a salad that tastes just like a caramel apple. Or a taffy apple. It all depends on where in the world you are, I guess.

Bon Appetit from Mother Goose!

Somebody won a prize for this recipe in 1965… NOT Mother Goose…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:55:15

    Thank you! thank you! thank you! I know I will happily munch away when the time comes.. (:

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:00:12

    Well, my gooseness, you’re welcome, Roberta!

    Reply

  3. Bunn
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:16:06

    Wow that sounds really yummy sissy! I might even make it! Did you bring this to holiday dinners in the past? 😉

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:51:15

      Ya, know…I don’t think I ever made this for any of those holiday dinners and diners. Probably those people would have liked it…. nah…

      Reply

  4. Bunn
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:17:11

    P.S I love the way you write recipes!

    Reply

  5. Debbi
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:33:36

    Thank you so much for sharing Mama Goose! This salad is decidedly delicious, there has to be a remedy for your allergy! Shame on me, I scarfed up the leftovers and shared with Steve the next day, who came back for seconds and agreement that I should make it for Thanksgiving. A kid friendly, hockey player pleaser!!

    Reply

  6. Dianna
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 20:06:37

    This sounds so yummy; I’ve printed the recipe, and will report in to Mother Goose once I stand still long enough to prepare it!

    Reply

  7. Three Well Beings
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 22:47:14

    This sounds so delicious! I’m sorry your allergy prevents you from enjoying it! But thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,423 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

October 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
