Acts of Valor in Colorado

I am quite certain that many of my patriotic friends have seen the movie and now the DVD, Act of Valor. This is a true-to-life movie about U.S. Navy Seals, starring REAL Seals involved in REAL Seal activities. It’s very well done, and Mother Goose has mentioned it before, of course. And because Mother Goose is such a patriotic person herself, she listens to the movie soundtrack and in fact, keeps it in the Goosemobile at all times.

Today as I was driving out to the western suburbs to have an iced coffee with a dear friend, I had the volume turned up. Way up high and singing along with the first song on the CD. It’s called “For You” — and it’s a heartfelt song written and performed by Keith Urban. Here’s a YouTube video of the song if you are at all interested…

I believe that Mr. Urban wrote it especially for the movie, but today it means even more as we consider the heroes in Aurora, Colorado last Friday.

Three of the men who perished in the movie theater were military guys: a sailor, an airman and a Navy veteran.

Petty Officer John Larimer

Staff Sgt. Jesse Childress

Navy veteran and father Jonathan Blunk

Each of these brave soldiers and sailors died protecting and saving somebody they cared about. Each of them took a bullet that would have killed someone else. Look at the opening lyrics to Mr. Urban’s song:

Well, all I saw was smoke and fire…
I didn’t feel a thing.
But suddenly I was rising higher…
And I felt like I just made… the biggest mistake.
When I thought about my unborn child…
When I thought about my wife…
And the answer rang out CLEAR from somewhere up above

No greater gift has man, then to lay down his life for Love.

And I wondered, would I give my life?
Could I make that sacrifice?
If it came down to it, could I take the bullet… I would
Yes I would, For You

And so the tears rolled down the feathery cheeks of Mother Goose one more time as she considered the lives of these brave men and the ultimate sacrifice they made last Friday in Colorado.

Though I am a goose, I ask myself sometimes, “What makes a hero?” What is inside a person to cause him to throw himself (or herself) into harm’s way without any rational thought to his own safety, but only considering the welfare and protection of another human being? I don’t know…

Are we born with that automatic response? Is it something they train the guys to do when they are in boot camp? But there are heroes outside of the military, of course. What lies within the heart of a person that they would put another before themselves, especially in a crisis where there is no time for thought? How do they take on death in place of another human?

In accounts of all three of these men, they had mentioned to people in their lives that they would in fact die for another person if need be. All three of them had already thought this through and had made up their minds about it! To me, that is so amazing! These men are not fools. They are not glory-seekers. They are not death-wishers.

They simply love.

They just know that dying for someone is the ultimate love.

They lived out their lives with the rich acceptance that dying for love is everything.

It goes against every instinct within us. All of our instincts point to survival, not sacrifice. Instinct says “every man for himself” and “look out for number one”.

It’s just all about love, dear friends. Please be kind to one another today. Please pray for the families and friends of John, Jesse and Jonathan.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeff noel
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 04:15:53

    Beautifully written. A fine and inspiring tribute. You’re a great goose, Mother Goose.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jul 25, 2012 @ 22:17:30

      Jeff, thank you. It seems I have written many tributes in the past few months, but my heart won’t allow me to write on until I’ve addressed the sad stories.

      Reply

  2. Tracy Griffin
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 09:09:23

    I think knowing or meeting a hero like this is the closest we can come on earth, to looking into the eyes of Jesus.

    Reply

  3. Ritergurl
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 10:17:16

    Beautiful tribute. Courage is not dead. http://wp.me/p1RlRY-4w

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jul 25, 2012 @ 22:28:27

      Jessica, thank you so much for stopping in. Your blog is very thoughtful and inspiring — we need to hear more stories about courageous souls. Valor stories WILL push back the darkness!

      Reply

  4. Three Well Beings
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:18:29

    I left for vacation on Saturday…one day after the tragedy in Colorado, and I must admit I was not sorry that I wouldn’t hear too many details related to the lives of those who perished. It just rips the heart out…and yet I’m glad you’ve shared these three stories. Three families I can specifically pray for, and no matter what I’ve heard in detail, I’ve thought of these poor souls all week. I marvel at those who exhibit true heroism. D

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jul 25, 2012 @ 22:36:16

      Debra, I tend to avoid media coverage of these horrific tragedies simply because the overabundance of details overwhelms my heart and distracts my focus on the one true and wonderful God who loves us and holds this world in the palm of His hand and cries with us.

      Reply

  5. Dianna
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 08:40:58

    A beautiful tribute, Natalie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,771 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
