Where’s My Geritol?

Mother Goose searched high and low for Geritol — the commercial made it sound like the perfect solution to her problem. Then she realized that the commercial was made in 1960, and the product is not as great as they made it sound anyway…

So I filled my shopping basket with iron supplement pills, spinach, soy milk, edamame pods, canned black soybeans, almonds and some red meat. None of the stores had any calves liver on the shelves, so I had to pass on that. Also, the rumor about dates being high is iron has been proven false.

Ironically, I’ve been consuming these iron-rich foods, but still not feeling the energy…

Probably I did not arrive in this condition overnight, and it will sure take several days before I’m feeling the positive effects.

The mystery I am pondering within my feather head is how did it come to this? Afterall, I am a menopausal goose. I may indeed look like a spring chicken, but I am not.

One of the ideas that I ran across in my online research is that I may have a case of Sports Anemia. I will assume that diagnosis until further notice. This is a condition that happens to athletes who are training hard for an Olympic sport or a marathon or extreme weight-training. These athletes are simply pushing their bodies so hard that they quickly deplete all their ironic reserves. Such must be the case with Mother Goose who is never still, but always working to beat her own best time.

Whether washing dishes, pulling weeds out of the garden, or cabbing her kids around town to sporting events, Mother Goose is on the “Be the Best You Can Be” hyper-overdrive mode at all times.

Hence, today I shall rest. And munch my ice and edamames.

A few pods are good for a goose.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 14:50:36

    Be careful with that ice, Mother Goose. Not to add another ailment to your list, but it really isn’t good for your teeth…..! Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jun 27, 2012 @ 19:40:11

      Thank you so much, Dianna, for that cautious reminder. If we take care of our teeth, they will take care of us for a long long time. My ice tends to be pretty soggy by the time I chew it, so Mother Goose is being very careful with that…

      Reply

  2. jeff noel
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 10:12:59

    Natalie, your writing reveals a wise goose. Keep on keeping on.

    Reply

  3. Three Well Beings
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 00:40:24

    There was all that marathon training earlier this year, so maybe some button got pushed! I am reasonably sure you can change things quite a bit with just taking care and particular nutrients. I had a edamame salad for dinner tonight! I love them…so I’m glad to see them in your diet right now! Take care sweet Natalie!! Debra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,131 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
