Mother Goose Meets A Living Pop Up

Even in the swelter of summertime, Mother Goose meets such interesting people! Just the other day, I was at the gas station filling up the Goosemobile. I plugged in the nozzle and was going to quickly check my phone for any special messages that I might have missed.

Suddenly, a beautiful woman walked towards me. She had the loveliest jet black hair all done up in curls and waves and beehives. Her zebra-striped blouse was very pretty and well-cut. I smiled at her. I smile at just about everybody. She smiled back and said “good morning!”

She approached me with her smart phone in her hand — I let mine drop to my side. As she got closer, she looked into my face and held her phone so that I could look at the screen.

“Do you know what this is?” she asked.

I looked at her phone. Before I opened my mouth with a smart remark, I realized that she was referring to the video showing on the screen of the phone, and not the phone itself…

“Yes,” I answered with much aplomb. “That’s sign language.”

Isn’t Mother Goose so clever?

“That’s right!” she said with much excitement. “Have you ever seen that before? People who are deaf have their own language, and this is how they communicate!”

Mother Goose smiled blankly. I know where this is going, I thought ever so smugly to myself. She is here to ask me for money for her “deaf cause”, and that’s OK. I have some dollars in my wallet.

But no, she continues talking to Mother Goose about sign language.

“Did you know,” she asked, “that there are people who do sign language for deaf people at churches?”

“Yes,” I answered with much eagerness. Mother Goose is so in touch with modern-day situations. “In fact, I’ve seen that before! AND there’s a church up on North Avenue in Franklin Park that has a sign out front that they are a deaf church!”

Mother Goose knows a lot of trivial facts…and never forgets what she sees along the journey.

“Oh,” she says. “Well, we have a group down on the south side.”

And then she proceeded to tell me about her friend who was both deaf and blind. I expressed my great concern and sadness at that circumstance. Apparently, her friend had been deaf from birth, but then due to not taking care of her diabetes, she had also lost her vision. Now they needed to “sign” into the palm of her hand. This made Mother Goose very sad, as I thought of how her life must be. I quickly imagined Helen Keller living in our time.

And then this interesting woman wished me a good day; she “God blessed me” and then with her sign language video playing on her phone again, she approached another gas-pumping customer.

I was left with the feeling of “where’s the punchline?” Did she forget to ask me for money to help the sign language group and her poor disabled friend? Did she just want to tell me about sign language? Was she simply building awareness of this important communication skill?

When I told my daughter this story, she thought for a few seconds and then pronounced that the lady was “a living pop-up”. She had something to tell folks, and she was going around sharing it.

Hmmmm…..

Mother Goose is puzzled still, and wishing she could be so bold and so friendly as that.

I love you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 20:09:07

    I’ve not heard of a living pop-up. I would think it would be a bit dangerous….

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jun 20, 2012 @ 07:12:22

      I’m quite certain that my daughter made that up on the spot, but that’s exactly how it all happened — like a pop-up ad on my computer, just a brief message and then gone…

      Reply

  2. jeff noel
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 04:23:59

    Interesting person. Somewhat baffling.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jun 20, 2012 @ 07:14:37

      Baffling to say the least… She shared her message and then just moved on to the next… It left me wondering “What was the point?” I’ve become so conditioned to “pitches” — I just assume the role of buyer when someone approaches me. She had nothing to sell…

      Reply

  3. yearstricken
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 17:30:10

    I like the idea of a living pop-up. We could all be living pop-ups of love and kindness. Wouldn’t that be nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 65,227 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
