Jessi Graduates with Honors

My amazing daughter, Jessica Leigh Stevenson, crossed the stage of the Chicago Theater yesterday with a gold tassel dangling from her graduation cap. Words escape me as I try to express my overwhelming pride and joy at this wonderful achievement.

A million memories of her childhood flood my mind as I watch her now, a true graduate of Columbia College Chicago. I’ve prayed thousands of prayers for her these past twenty-five years. My heart has always believed in her special gifts and charms. Hopes stacked upon hopes for her. I’ve dreamed of her beautiful spirit taking wing and soaring to heights far above the commonplaces where most of us live.

Like the mockingjay pin she wore on her gown, she is a sign to all of us that the odds are EVER in our favor.
If we believe in ourselves,
if we believe in the power of love,
if we believe that we can overcome every obstacle, every storm, and every form of darkness.

Blessings on you, my precious Jessi. I love you with all my heart.

The pre-commencement show was very professional — such great entertainment!

Jessi with BFF Bridget.

Who wears a mockingjay pin on their graduation gown?

My precious joyful daughter.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rworking
    May 06, 2012 @ 07:40:18

    Congratulations, Mother Goose! I well remember the day Sergei graduated. Lovely pictures, too.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      May 08, 2012 @ 06:30:09

      Thank you, Russ — college graduation is very different from high school graduation, especially when it happens at the Chicago Theater.

      Reply

  2. Bunn
    May 06, 2012 @ 07:56:41

    This is beautiful!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      May 08, 2012 @ 06:31:24

      Thank you, sissy dear. As you know, Jessi is very special and has overcome some gigantic obstacles to arrive at this day. We can’t wait til you get here so we can really celebrate her accomplishments!

      Reply

  3. Dianna
    May 06, 2012 @ 11:06:16

    Aw, congrats to your beautiful daughter, and best wishes for her future. As a mother, I can totally understand your pride. It’s completely justified!

    Reply

  4. Three Well Beings
    May 07, 2012 @ 23:24:11

    I’m so happy for you, and delighted to see Jessica’s beautiful smile! This is a major life achievement, and I know you have prayed for her success and confidence as she moves forward, too! Sorry I missed this earlier. My dad is in the hospital recovering from pneumonia…he’s doing ver well…just takes me out of my normal rhythms 🙂 Blessings, Debra

    Reply

    • Natalie
      May 08, 2012 @ 06:33:53

      Debra, thanks so much. She’s got some interesting things lined up for the next big adventure. Funny how the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…

      Reply

  5. eof737
    May 10, 2012 @ 16:06:34

    Congratulations to her and all of you!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 65,227 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
