To Be Alive is To Procrastinate

Mother Goose must ask: is procrastination a problem in your home? Do you happily put off for tomorrow what you could easily and stresslessly do today? Some of the people in the nest of Mother Goose have an issue with procrastination. I shall not name them today…however, I will tell you some of the shocking things they did this past weekend in order to delay the inevitable research paper and school projects.

One gosling (who will graduate from Columbia College Chicago this coming Saturday and has approximately 32 pages of research papers due this week) found it was the perfect time to completely clean her bedroom. She picked up all the clutter, vacuumed everywhere, dusted all of her knickknacks and reorganized her closet. She cooked herself an exotic vegan meal. She went for several walks and offered to wash dishes. She found time to play with the cat, and praised the dog. I may have spotted her weeding the garden…

Another nameless gosling of Mother Goose had a five-page honors history paper due, complete with endless pages of endnotes and citations. He had previously emailed his teacher requesting that the entire class be granted a weekend extension to the deadline due to stressful ACT testing and other humongous projects last week. The history teacher graciously extended the due date of the paper for which all students were very thankful. And so this son of mine was busy yesterday afternoon with several activities, none of which had much to do with his research paper about Ronald Reagan.

Suddenly he needed to shave!

Not too surprising, he needed to drink a Red Bull.

Most surprising…he wanted to accompany me to the grocery store. “Mom, I have never wanted to go to the grocery store with you as much as I do today!” And then he really REALLY wanted to help me carry in all the groceries…more than he ever wanted to in his whole life.

Some of my dear and gentle readers may have watched an episode of SpongeBob Squarepants where this condition was addressed. If you have never watched it, I cordially invite you to take the time right now. Maybe you have your own project to delay for as long as possible…

Mother Goose is proud to announce that the papers were eventually started. Some were completed by 2:00 a.m. Some projects were not quite completed by 2:00 a.m. Some were not begun at all. But then, you know what they say:

If it weren’t for the last minute, I wouldn’t get anything done. ~Author Unknown

The clock is ticking...

And I wish you all the time in the world today. Love, Mother Goose

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:49:35

    Omg this is so hilarious!! Your poor goslings take after their Auntie and Uncle sooo bad!! This was just like reading a story about me!! I’ve come to the conclusion I work great under pressure!!

    Reply

  2. Three Well Beings
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 15:49:45

    Oh it is the human condition, I think! We are so weak! I have recently been very poor at paying the bills! I hate paperwork and keep putting it off…and I do the same as your college gosling…I will empty cupboards and closets, organizing my clutter, completely avoiding the giant pile of mail! I need my own intervention…or,post of shame! Debra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,589 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
