The Titanic (and Mother Goose) Left Southampton 100 Years Ago Today

On April 10th, 1912 at precisely 12:00 noon, Titanic pulled away from Southampton in England headed for America. She was a fine steamer, the largest and grandest to ever sail the Atlantic. Pride filled the hearts of the passengers and crew alike for there was none like her in all the world. “Practically unsinkable,” they told one another. The finest accommodations for the first class passengers. Quick and easy transportation for the hundreds of immigrants looking for a new life across the sea — life in America’s heartland.

There's Mother Goose waving from the rail!

Mother Goose was onboard Titanic that day. Few recognized her and those who did, simply nodded their greetings and with great sensitivity, didn’t point her out to the rest of the passengers. Though I was traveling Second Class, I strolled the upper decks, my sweater pulled tight to warm my ample bosom and my sunbonnet in place to protect my eyes from the glare of the sun on the waves. As I explored the beautiful Titanic, I took note of many things — the lavish decor, the sumptuous food, the grandiose pomposity of the First Class Passengers.

I also noticed that there were only sixteen life boats.

I found myself sitting next to Mr. Bruce Ismay at tea. I expressed my concern at the lack of life boats to carry the complete roster of passengers! He looked at me and smiled in a superior sort of way, “Why, my dear Mother Goose, we won’t be needing ANY life boats at all. We are aboard Titanic!”

My keen eyes watched the other passengers dining, dancing, gossiping, drinking sherry and smoking cigars.

I easily watched without interruption the ship’s crew in action. I was in the radio room when the messages came across the telegram wire that several icebergs had been spotted along the travel path of our steamship. I honked with great concern to alert Captain Smith of our great speed and the potential peril of our purported journey. He chuckled and said, “My dear Mother Goose, we are not in the least bit concerned about icebergs. We are aboard Titanic!”

I had many friends in the steerage compartments of the great ship, and I visited them often during our voyage. They told me their hopes and dreams. They proudly showed me their children on their way to a new life in America. The excitement was contagious, and Mother Goose found herself dancing and singing Irish ballads with them.

I went below deck several times to observe the boiler rooms in the hull of Titanic. Fascinated with the pure brute strength of the men stoking the great boilers, my heart skipped a beat at the sheer enormity of this ship. Such engineering! Such industry! Oh the progress of mankind! I had seen nothing like it in all of my travels abroad, and I made great plans to write it all down for the world to know that I was a passenger on the maiden voyage of Titanic.

(Please come back tomorrow when Mother Goose continues her story of her adventures onboard Titanic…)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:13:34

    I can’t wait til tomorrow for your continuing story.

    Reply

  2. Bunn
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:47:26

    Loving it!

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 13:55:02

    Great story, Natalie! Can’t wait for tomorrow’s installment! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Three Well Beings
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 16:10:23

    Very exciting eyewitness reporting, Mother Goose! I have Titanic fever this week and a few thoughts of my own! But I wasn’t actually there, so my sharing won’t be nearly as promising! I’ll be back to see what more you may have for us! Debra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,161 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
