An Open Letter to Mrs. Biles

Dear Mrs. Biles,

You probably do not remember me. You were my third grade teacher. I only had one third grade teacher, but you must surely have taught a million kids in your career, and I was just one of them. I remember you drove all the way from Pepin, Wisconsin to Lake City, Minnesota just to teach us every single day.

I wonder if you remember something you said to me forty four years ago… You said, “Natalie, when you get your first book written and published, please send me a copy of it.” You liked my writing, and that meant a lot to me.

For awhile in your class I wrote a classroom magazine called “The Book of Everything”. It had funny pictures, puzzles and games, cool ideas, and some fiction stories as well. I designed it and wrote it, and I showed it to you. You showed it to the class, and the other kids read “The Book of Everything” when they had some free time.

Mrs. Biles, I haven’t written a real book yet, but I think about it all the time. While I’m waiting to do that project, I’ve been writing some funny stories about people I know and the adventures we have in our lives.

If you are reading this, please be patient with my delay in getting published. Thanks so much for believing in me and giving me your gift of encouragement. I have never forgotten you, Mrs. Biles!

Love, Natalie (aka Mother Goose)

[inspired by my bloggish friend Yearstricken)

A sample classroom from the 1960's...Mother Goose is not here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 15:09:04

    I had no idea! I wish we still had it! Could you make another one for me?

    Reply

  2. Dianna
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 18:28:50

    Aw… I sure hope Mrs. Biles sees your letter to her. It’s amazing the influence a good teacher can have on her students.

    Reply

  3. Three Well Beings
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:05:17

    I love it! Wouldn’t Mrs. Biles be proud of you! You have the talent for a book, so one day the inspiration you have obviously felt for a long time will bloom into something special. This was a delight to read! Debra

    Reply

  4. yearstricken
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:45:06

    Every teacher dreams of getting letters like this. I hope it finds it way to her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,161 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
