A Robin’s Song

[Mother Goose has invited her friend, Little Wife, to guest blog for her today. Please excuse her southern accent.]

I am inconsolably attracted to birdsongs. My ears are drawn like mini magnets to the source of the melodies. My heart flutters with the delight, and my fingers long to brush the feathers on their tiny wings. Oh to hear the music of the birds, especially in the springtime. Being a woman of diminutive size, I experience many of the same situations as smallish birds and perhaps that is why I often find comfort and companionship in their songs.

Turdus migratorious

There is a robin outside my window. My window remains open these days for all the fresh air to blow on my face while I lay sleeping, waiting for the birds to begin their morning sonata. I can listen with my eyes closed, just like at the opera. I eagerly await the prelude. The songs start promptly at 4 o’clock.

Many people do not realize that the day song of the American Robin is much different than its predawn song and evensong. And there is even much variety among robins regarding their day song! There is a “singing for rain” song, a “cheer up cheer up” song and a special song for sunny days filled with daffodils and crocuses. But truly the basic song of Turdus migratorious is a series of musical whistles sounding like cheerily, cheeriup, cheerio, cheeriup. The syllables rise and fall in pitch but are delivered at a steady rhythm, with a pause before the bird begins singing again.

But, oh my heavens, I do digress… And I do declare, let’s get back to those pre-sunrise songs, please.

Quietly and still as a common comatose patient, I lie on my giant bed, with my head under the open window. The sound of wooden flutes floats and wafts into my waking and watchful ears. And yet no human flautist, not even the ever-eternal and famous Jean-Pierre Rampal, could duplicate the intricate tones of this morning serenade. It is ethereal and heavenly, liken it unto a dream song, and perhaps it was. Nonetheless, my spirit soars with the song of the robin.

Catharus guttatus

The song I hear is much more akin to the cousin of Turdus migratorious. The hermit thrush sings a song so pure, so rich in color that it has been hearkened unto a pipe organ in the deep woods which it calls home. I have never heard this bird in person. I do think that the robin, the muse outside my morning awakening, thinks that she is truly Catharus guttatus. I am happy for her to believe that. And please excuse my southern accent.

The song of the robin is the first in the morning program, and the last in the evening presentation. She is indeed a show off with her colorful tones and variations on a hermit thrush melody. I admire her courage to sing in the dark. I wish that I could sing as she does. I may be small and birdlike in nature, but sadly I have not achieved the tuneful expression of a bird. Occasionally I make a quiety little squeaking sound which some may compare to a zebra finch.

As I write this blog for Mother Goose, my ears are being overpowered by the raucous sounds of a flock of crows. A murderer’s row of crows if you will. Loud and obnoxious, they drown out the feeble and faint warblings of the wrens and purple finches. I cannot think very well to write with these nasty crows cawing and crashing through the sound barriers of my mind.

I had intended to elaborate on the similarities of bird language and human language as proved by the discovery of a shared gene, Fox SP2. I may be of short stature, but I am passionate about science. I thrill to the idea of experts finding similarities between different species of God’s creatures. However, with all the noise of the nosy crows, I cannot continue this guest blog for one more minute.

Obnoxiously Noisatata

I wish you well.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 12:54:42

    Isn’t it just amazing to hear the robin singing so early in the morning?? I just loved it this morning! A true sound of spring!
    So sorry the crows drove you away!

    Reply

  2. Dianna
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 14:58:58

    Yes, Little Wife, what an appropriate scientific name for those crows.
    I, too, have my windows open on this glorius day, and am listening to quite a symphony myself!

    Reply

  3. Three Well Beings
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 01:11:00

    I enjoyed the bird songs you shared so much! I pay a lot of attention to the birds and my ears alert to specific calls, too. It’s fun for me to experience birds from different regions. When I was home during the day a bit more often than I am now, I would occasionally catch an “out of town” bird migrating on through. On the days I am home I get very distracted from chores and indoor activities and frequently take my camera outside to see “who” I can video. These little guys are truly precious, and God sure does give us a symphony of sweet sounds. I must admit that I’m a little pleased that “our” birds don’t seem to get started as early as yours do, Little Wife! (we do share crows!!) Debra

    Reply

  4. yearstricken
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 11:23:18

    Thank you for sharing the bird songs and your thoughts about them. I love listening to the birds when I’m walking. You can never hear too much of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,627 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
