In Honor of a Hero

Today my heart is heavy. Though I didn’t know Marine Corporal Conner Thomas Lowry, I feel his mother’s pain. Though I haven’t lost a son or daughter or a husband to a desert war in a faraway place, my tears fall for families who know that kind of loss. This Marine was killed in Afghanistan on March 1st; he was a gunner on a humvee during combat operations in Kajaki District. He was 24 years old, and had planned to be home in June.

This morning, he arrived at Midway Airport in Chicago. They’ll carry him to his family and they’ll carry him to a visitation service. They’ll carry him to funeral mass and they’ll carry him to his final resting place. And God will carry his family and friends.

I have many questions: how does a mother cope with this kind of loss? Will her son’s ultimate sacrifice be remembered by this nation in weeks to come? When will the troops come home for good? Will there every be a good and believable reason for this war?

We honor you, Corporal Conner Lowry. We pray for your beloved family and friends and fellow Marines. Someday, we’ll be able to throw our arms around you and shake your hand and thank you properly for your service to the United States of America. We don’t say “goodbye” because you’ll be with us. Blessings to you.

Marine Corporal Conner Thomas Lowry, rest in peace.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jeff noel
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 10:36:41

    Touching tribute Natalie. May the peace that surpasses all understanding be a blanket of comfort to every fallen soldier’s family and friends.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Mar 10, 2012 @ 07:35:32

      Thank you Jeff. Jesus says,” Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

      Reply

  2. Three Well Beings
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 12:23:31

    Natalie, All of your questions are deeply painful. I wouldn’t for one minute imply I have a thing to add! I do pray for our troops, and their families, and will particularly pray for this dear man’s family and friends. Debra

    Reply

  3. Dianna
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 13:51:41

    What a nice post, Natalie. I, too, wonder how a mother copes with loss such as this. I’m sure God must give her the strength.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Mar 10, 2012 @ 07:39:23

      Thank you Dianna. When my grandmother lost her thirteen year old son, Eugene, she had some time when she didn’t want to go on with life. But God gave her strength and peace each and every day. He is faithful and His mercies are new and fresh every morning. šŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. yearstricken
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 18:10:31

    I’m glad you honored this young man. He paid with his life to honor his country and protect us. Like you, I trust that the war will end and good will come of it.

    Reply

  5. eof737
    May 10, 2012 @ 16:03:21

    Truly tragic and such a handsome young man. My condolences to his family…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 65,227 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
