La Femmena ala Mother Goose

Yesterday’s journey of errands brought this goose to the door of La Femmena Consignment Boutique in Oak Park. I was completely unaware of the blessings awaiting…

The window displays are so enticing!

As I stepped inside, the sounds of gospel music brought the sweet presence of Jesus into my experience. There were ladies at the counter blessing each other, and praising God for His love and goodness. I knew, at that moment, that I had stumbled unto a unique experience — another grand adventure for Mother Goose.

La Femmena has designer clothes at unbelievable prices, and their selection is incredible. I immediately found a skirt to try on, and a very kind woman showed me to the dressing room. It FIT perfectly which is sometimes a problem for Mother Goose. You see, I have a fairly thick waistline. Skirts are often cut very narrowly in the waist — do most women have such tiny waistlines? I don’t know about you gals, but my waistline has always been quite round and growing rounder through the years…

So I found a lovely skirt, and just then my phone rang! It was my precious daughter asking to be picked up from the train on her way home from school. My first thought, “Oh noooo, now I don’t have time to pick out a top to go with my new skirt.” But the loving ladies at this amazing shop knew their inventory so well — there was no need to worry about my time crunch at all. I asked in a quiet little honking way, “Do you think you have any tops that might match this skirt? I’d like something sleeveless in a size 10 or 12.”

Suddenly, they had the perfect teal sleeveless shell, and it’s VELVET!

And then I began to notice their collection of shoes…

They have such a wonderful selection!

Omigooseness their shoes! I smiled to myself, knowing that I was going to leave this store with a brand new outfit complete with shoes, and also I’d be looking so good for our dinner out with friends that evening.

Ladies, did I mention that they were in the middle of their season end sale? Did I mention that everything I bought was 85% off the ticket price? Did I mention that the velvet top and the precious designer shoes had never been worn and had tags on them?

Did I mention how gracious these women were to show me so much attention and to be so helpful, even though I am a goose? They sang songs of sweet praise to God as they worked, and I left the store feeling like somebody really loved me and cared about me. I felt completely that the Lord had blessed me and showed me much favor in that little shop in Oak Park.

La Femmena is simply love... Love is patient, love is kind.

I cannot wait to go back to La Femmena! Honk honk!

And the big reveal!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 12:45:51

    Wow u just find the most amazing places!!
    Your new outfit is just beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 13:32:49

    Oh thanks dear. It seems lately that every time I step out the door, there’s an adventure waiting for me with accompanying blessings.

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 13:43:43

    Part of the reason you find all those adventures is because you take the time to look around, which is truely a gift. πŸ™‚
    BTW…you look great!!

    Reply

  4. Dianna
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 14:59:44

    Oh, Mother Goose – you just look fa-bu-lous, dahling!! (Would you see if they’d like to open a store in my neighborhood…????)

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 05:57:20

      Dianna, thank you dahling. This place has DESIGNER labels for incredible prices — I’m not exactly hunting for designer clothes (I’m a goose, after all)…but it’s such nice quality.

      Reply

  5. Linda
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 17:28:48

    Whoa baby, who’s the hot mamma with the perky bossoms? I need to get out more. Almost ready for a walking adventure.

    Reply

  6. Three Well Beings
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 23:29:10

    I love the new look, Mother Goose! You do find blessings everywhere you go! How wonderful is that πŸ™‚ Debra

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Feb 29, 2012 @ 06:00:51

      Thanks from my squawking heart, Debra. Isn’t it so like Jesus to surprise us with a store like this? I AM consciously trying to look for Him in all places and people these days, and it is turning out to be true, If we seek Him, we shall find Him.

      Reply

  7. eof737
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:43:30

    You were having way too much fun. Wish I were there! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. jeff noel
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:52:55

    Natalie, long overdue, I’m now subscribed to your blog. Long overdue. Sorry. Better late than never. Thanks for your comment and update at Lane8 today.Getting ready for my first 5k in a year also.

    Reply

  9. Christy
    May 04, 2014 @ 16:19:54

    How are you doing . My daughter and I miss you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,770 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  
