No More Mrs. Nice Goose

At the home of Mother Goose, there’s been recent discussion about whether being light and funny and optimistic is always a good thing. There’s been some talk that laughing in the morning over coffee is actually “rowdy”, and maybe we need to settle down. Mother Goose has been accused of being too helpful, too happy and perhaps a teensy weensy bit on the Pollyanna side. Too much hopefulness. Too much of this smiley stuff. Seeing the world through rose-colored glasses. In days gone by, Mother Goose was even criticized for loving her family too much.

So let’s just let go of all that joy and fun right here and now.

Mother Goose is going to the Dark Side.

Bad Goose

No more Mrs. Nice Goose. No more Mother Goose Smiles. No more “Bee a blessing.” We’re going to explore what it means to be a bad egg. I’m getting my tail feathers in a bunch right now. No more honking for joy or flapping for fun. From now on, it’s going to be just one bad “Honnnnnnnnk.” Period.

Messed up Goose

Why should a goose be hopeful at all? What’s to be gained by spreading sunshine? What is there to smile about anyway when you’re a goose? We all know the eventual outcome of being a goose — the goose is cooked.

This goose is cooked.

Consider this quote: “When the goose honks high, fair weather; when the goose honks low, foul weather.”

No more honking high for this old goose — fair weather gives way to foul. Or shall we say “fowl” because after all sometimes a good goose can go bad.

I’m doing the “Dark Dance” — getting on my industrial and heading out into a black night.

Go Ahead. Blame it on The Goose.

No more silliness. No more giggly. No more cutesie patoosie. This Goose is going down.

Taking the goose down...

OK. I feel better now. Sometimes Mother Goose just has to vent…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 14:41:42

    OH DEER! Please stop the negative honking!! Bring back my happy helpful silly goose!!
    I hope you feel better after this low honking!
    Whoever has cooked my goose shame shame shame on you!

    Reply

    • Jo
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 15:17:21

      I’m with you Bunn bring back the silly Mother Goose we so enjoy and love…..

      Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 19:06:55

      Mother Goose returns tomorrow with all sorts of positive and encouraging words — maybe something funny to honk about too. Here’s a funny saying: “What’s good for the goose, is good for the gander.”

      Reply

  2. Dianna
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 14:53:08

    You had me going there for a minute! Sure hope the Mother Goose that we’ve come to know and love returns soon!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 19:05:49

      Dianna, now that I’ve relieved myself of all that frustration and poison, I can return to my normally scheduled programming. Thanks so much for dropping in!

      Reply

  3. Three Well Beings
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 15:31:19

    Well put! Good and healthy vent! And I’ve been accused of much the same. It’s often amazing to me that in the end some people think that being optimistic and faith-filled is perhaps mostly tied to the fact that “I don’t have any REAL problems.” As though that could ever be true. I also relate to being told I love my family too much. Now that I’m a grandmother I am REALLY misunderstood…my little gals have infused my life with so much joy I KNOW I am blessed…Love your perspective, and it’s great to meet someone with such a great sense of humor and optimism really should be contagious! Debra

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 19:03:40

      Debra, thanks very much for your support as always! As you know, most of the time I have a positive approach to life and also to my writing. But…once…in…a…while, I just have to say grrrrr….instead of honk honk. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Linda
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 17:30:11

    What came first, the picture or the words?

    Reply

  5. yearstricken
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 18:57:29

    So much fun, so creative; I like it lots and lots!

    Reply

  6. ElizOF
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 07:23:13

    I take it everyone survived ‘cos I didn’t read about you in the local papers. 😆 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,049 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
