Honk Honk! The Hazards of the Holidays

Mother Goose is constantly amazed at how dangerous Christmas and other holidays can be. Let me just quickly share with you a few of the injuries and accidents that our family has encountered this past week.

1. Paper cuts from the wrapping paper.

2. Inflamed vocal chords from singing Christmas carols too zealously.

3. Strained arm and leg muscles from playing competitive sports games (such as Kinect on our Xbox 360).

4. Hot oil burns from rushing through the process frying up the stew meat too swiftly.

5. And finally, a broken molar for Mr. Mother Goose from eating a giant stale Tootsie Roll from Cracker Barrel.

Beeee careful, ever soooo careful.

None of the injuries required immediate medical attention except for the last one. Mark visited with his friendly neighborhood dentist this morning, and left the office of the dentist MINUS one old molar. He has enough pain pills for an army, and enough packing gauze to build ten maxi pads if we need them.

Mother Goose will be busy for the next day or two massaging his swollen gums and applying ice packs to his squirrel cheeks. I will also be tending to the other people who have been injured over the holidays. Please think of us when you’re munching hard caramels and carrot sticks and holiday popcorn. We’ll be here feeling sorry for ourselves.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 14:09:16

    Ooohh that’s so sad!! Poor Mr. Goose I know how bad that sux!! My last tootsie eating experience was at our local bank! Thoroughly enjoying its chewiness until there were hard pieces in it! Cost me a grand at our local dentist! I’m still paying! And reminded every month of that stupid tootsie!! I’ll never eat another and I hold a grudge! A very big grudge! I scowl at the bowl taunting me with its chewy treats every trip to the bank!
    I sure hope there are no more accidents this season! Be so careful!

    Reply

  2. Wanda Keirsey
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 15:35:55

    So sorry for Mr. Mother Goose. Just wanted to tell how good it makes me feel when one of my best friends now has a smile on her face in every pic I see and I look for the pics. Thanks so much for the one in your Christmas card. You and yours have truly been a blessing to me.

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Dec 28, 2011 @ 17:41:22

      Thank you, Wanda dear. You never know who Mother Goose will write about next…. maybe it’ll be my dear friend from down South… Love you dearly…

      Reply

  3. Dianna
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 19:38:34

    I’m always sorry to hear of a broken tooth. I know you’ll take good care of Mr. Mother Goose, though, and his squirrel cheeks will soon be a thing of the past.
    Love the “maxi paid” comment!

    Reply

  4. yearstricken
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 06:35:08

    I hope your pocketbook doesn’t hurt as much as Mr. Mother Goose’s broken tooth when you have to buy him a new one. Too bad Christmas is over, teeth make nice gifts. Remember, “All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth”?

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 16:03:15

      Teeth do indeed make nice Christmas gifts! If he had lost a front one, I’d insist on that. With molars though, it’s easy come, easy go.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,423 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
