To Befriend a Goose

Mother Goose has many dear friends. Yesterday I enjoyed a three-hour Starbucks break with my precious friend, Linda. We hogged up the whole front half of the coffee shop! We each had a softie chair to sit in, plus one of the leather hassocks to park our stuff, plus a little table to set our teas and snackies. And Linda’s leg.

Keepin' it elevated.

And here’s a close-up of her sweet holiday-ish cast!

I bet it tastes pepperminty too.

Linda recently had some orthopedic surgery done on her ankle and heel to correct some shortened ligaments and anatomical components of her left foot. She’s spending the holidays on crutches — yes, she’s Christmas shopping, decorating, entertaining, attending holiday school concerts and helping her mother who just moved her from Florida and is settling into a new home near Linda.

Linda is simply amazing! Mother Goose is inspired by her boundless energy and her gift of listening. Linda doesn’t just listen…she HEARS. She always knows the right gift to buy or make for me because she is always hearing my heart. Here’s what she gave me yesterday:

It's so nautical.

And all because she heard Mother Goose bewail the desire to have a mug or teacup that would symbolize ocean adventures. (Of course, you know that Mother Goose has two sons in the U.S. Navy.) So when she saw this sweet set in the Old Durham Road catalog, she knew Mother Goose would jump for joy to receive such a gift. That’s just the way Linda is! Mother Goose is not as intuitive as Linda is — I am usually squawking about something totally irrelevant and miss the punchline of every conversation…

So we laughed and visited for three hours as good friends often do at Starbucks. But I must pass on two very good ideas that Linda shared with me yesterday. Both are in the category of “Blessing Others”.

First Idea. Linda attended the birthday party of a friend who was turning 50. (Mother Goose is way beyond 50, and has already celebrated that day which shall go down in infamy…) Her friend, Cindy, used this momentous occasion to remember and honor twelve of her friends. She made sweet photo packets of her and each friend through the years as well as writing wonderful thank you letters to each of them. What a thoughtful woman she must be! Instead of hogging all the glory of turning 50 (which is what Mother Goose did…), she turned it around and shared love and honor with twelve of her closest friends. I just think that’s such a GREAT idea.

Second Idea. Wedding tradition has the bride tossing her bouquet out into the audience of young UNMARRIED maidens. The crowd of enthusiastic potential “next brides” jump and push and shove to grab the lucky bouquet. Here’s an idea that Linda heard about from another friend: the bride hands the bouquet to the woman at the wedding who has been married the longest. Isn’t that a wonderful idea too? How perfect to honor a woman who has set an example of marital longevity by gifting her with pretty flowers, the bride’s symbol of hope and beauty forever. I just love that!

Our three hour visit seemed to fly by so quickly. We said our goodbyes and promised to gather onto ourselves again soon for more Christmas cheer. As I drove down the road, I couldn’t help but wonder how in the world I ever found such a great friend. Thanks Linda for befriending this old goose!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bunn
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 07:06:21

    Ooohhh what a wonderful friend Linda is! I’m so glad you have her!

    Reply

  2. Natalie
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 07:17:45

    Oh me too. She’s a national treasure.

    Reply

  3. Dianna
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 07:49:33

    Linda sounds like a gem. We all should have a friend like that! I love that you said she doesn’t just listen: she hears! (My Christmas shopping would be less of a chore if I practiced that art….)
    Three hours? And I bet it just flew by!

    Reply

  4. yearstricken
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 16:55:23

    What a wonderful gift friendship is. I’m sure she would have equally good things to say about you.

    Reply

  5. Three Well Beings
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 00:00:43

    Natalie, you are so refreshing, and it doesn’t surprise me you have collected wonderful friends. In appreciation for how you make me laugh, I have nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. I hope that you will have the time to go to my site and read the December 9 post. I have highlighted to my readers why I enjoy your posts, and I give the details of the Liebster Award. At this busy time you don’t need to jump right into it, but I hope you will feel special! Debra

    Reply

  6. Natalie
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 10:23:08

    Debra, that is so thoughtful, sweet and kind of you! It is my first bloggish award EVER, and I do feel special. I will just go off by myself now and consider what this means… Thank you thank you thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,161 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
