Hey Diddle Diddle. Could It Really Happen?

Well, this is just plain old nonsense, right?

Hey diddle diddle,
The Cat and the fiddle,
The Cow jumped over the moon,
The little Dog laughed to see such sport,
And the Dish ran away with the Spoon.

Let’s look at a few images and get a better feel for this bit of posie.

And this one….

And this one….

I realize as I examine these illustrations of cow, cat, dog, dish and spoon that I haven’t much to add! Surprise, surprise! The pictures speak for themselves. This is nothing but nonsense. Whoever heard of a cat playing a fiddle? Olivia from Bolivia plays the CD player and that’s it. A cow jumping over the moon? Who makes this stuff up anyway? I’v been looking outside for many years at the moon, and I’ve never seen it happen. A dog laughing — smiling, yes. Laughing? I think not.

But the dish and the spoon running away could be a very real situation. I actually did see that happen once! I was baking cookies in my kitchen, listening to some Aerosmith on the radio. I happened to be sipping a tiny glass of white wine when, out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a spoon running across the kitchen floor. It was being chased by a dish with a strange leering grin on its face. I quickly set down my very small glass of wine in order to follow the action a little more clearly. I was sitting on my good old fashioned metal stool with the retractable steps. Mother Goose sometimes has trouble focusing when she sips her wine in the kitchen, so I leaned way over to get a better look at this amazing sight. And then, I fell off my stool knocking my forehead on the edge of the counter as I went down, down, down onto the floor.

Needless to say, I didn’t see where the dish and spoon ran away to with all the ensuing commotion. But rest assured, I really did see what I saw…. And the moral of this story is so very obvious — it doesn’t matter if you are drinking wine out of a tiny little jelly jar. If you’ve refilled it five or six times, you may see ordinarily inanimate objects behaving quite animatedly in your kitchen.

And fill your night with love and fun. Love, Mother Goose

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 00:16:52

    Another great post, Mother Goose. You gotta be careful with those little sips of wine!

    Reply

  2. Bunn
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 10:44:14

    Haha little jelly jars can be dangerous when filled repeatedly!! Good one as usually Mother Goose!!

    Reply

  3. ElizOF
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 03:40:41

    One of my favorites… I wonder where those naughty twosome went. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,161 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
