The Bleeding Heart Bakery

Mother Goose has mentioned The Bleeding Heart Bakery before, but it is definitely worth seconds. This is the place to go if you are looking for “local, sustainable, punk rock pastry” or if you just need to get out of the house for awhile and have a cuppa tea and a muffin. Such was the case for Mother Goose this morning.

I live within biking distance of the bakery, so I hopped on my beloved classic Schwinn and away I flew, just as fast as my little webbed feet could pedal. Riding my bike has been my happy place for so many years, and today was no exception. Pedaling around Oak Park was a treat for sore eyes — the colors of the trees, the gardens and the homes were more exuberant than ever. With some of the leaves down, I was able to view some homes that I hadn’t had privilege to see before. Look at this one:

But alas, I digress.

The Bleeding Heart Bakery has a great perspective on their products. All organic, all day long. Here’s something I ripped from their website: “Bleeding Heart Bakery was the first Certified Organic retail bakery in the United States. While credentials like that are great, we seriously get behind the practices involved in running a green bakery.”

But that’s not why I went to the bakery this morning. I just wanted to have a cup of tea and a tasty tea cake. And it was the BEST TEA CAKE EVER. I ate it so fast I didn’t even get a picture of it! When I walked into the bakery, I didn’t even know what a tea cake was. I asked the ever helpful young lady behind the counter, and she chose to give me the simple answer, “It’s just a big muffin really.” And that’s enough information for this goose! I ordered the carrot tea cake.

The whole point of a bakery should be that they create and sell the tastiest stuff on the planet. We go to a bakery to get a sweet fix and some comfort from the cold, harsh realities of life. We want to forget the mean email that we received from our ex-husbands. We want to just sit and text back and forth with a girlfriend who knows and loves us. We want to feel better. It doesn’t have to necessarily be healthy, but how wonderful that this bakery takes those things like health and sustainability to heart. Here’s some of the good stuff they make and bake:

It’s cute, it’s comfortable and they have good food. What more could Mother Goose ask for today?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 23:22:16

    This looks like a wonderful little place. Thanks for taking us along with you!

    Reply

  2. Eric Winger
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 10:54:00

    This summer, when we went back to visit my parents, I was able to ride on my dad’s 1945 Schwinn. Such a fun bike to ride around on! (And glad the tea cake was good)

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Nov 09, 2011 @ 15:36:39

      They just don’t make bicycles like they used to. Mine is not quite 1945, but it’s pretty vintage and I love to ride it around town.

      Reply

  3. eof737
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 22:06:05

    Good for you… nothing beats a cuppa and a tea cake… warms the heart against the elements. πŸ™‚
    I’m working on catching up again after a hectic workshop week again. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 65,034 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
