The Hallways of Hibbing High School

They were haunted, I tell you. Haunted by the spirits of students gone before us. Haunted perhaps by Bob Dylan himself, although he was Robert Zimmerman way back then. And there’s the hallway leading to the study hall with the “meat line” of young men ogling young women. And there’s Kevin McHale towering over all of us, so long-legged and long-armed. And now those hallways haunt me, haunt my dreams…..frequently.

Hibbing High School was the recipient of the coveted Bellamy Award for prestigious, honorable high schools. Built by iron ore mining money decades before, it is still a grand monument to Minnesota industrialism and capitalism and extravaganzaism. The auditorium was likened onto the Capitol Theater in New York City!

Grand and glorious, yet oddly enough, filled with unappreciative teenagers scheming ways to skip classes without getting caught.

In my dreams, I cannot find my locker. I do not remember my class schedule. I am carrying an armload of books, but I have no idea what class they are for. I wander through the hallways of Hibbing High School, up and down the magnificent staircases. I turn corners looking for shortcuts to classes I cannot find.

It’s a school like a castle. It is a school with four floors, at least! And a subterranean level as well. I try to follow the crowds to find my way, but they ALL seem to know where they are going. I slip into a class already in progress, hoping it is where I belong. The teacher doesn’t seem to recognize me, but I smile and take a seat in the back. As the hour continues, I begin to panic afresh. The teacher is passing out a major test, and I have not been in class for weeks. Do I even belong here? I dash out the door, down the hallways, down the stairs and around more corners. Here are some lockers! Maybe one of these is mine. Well, this one looks familiar, but what is my locker combination?

And so it goes.
On and on.
With no resolution.
Until I wake up.
Exhausted by the hallways of Hibbing High School.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dianna
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 11:53:06

    Wow, that’s a huge high school! And a beauty.
    any dreams I have of school days would definitely be nightmares.

    Reply

  2. Bunn
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 22:43:21

    I’m haunted by that reoccurring dream too! Only usually I’m struggling to walk. Such an icky dream. And I never stop to marvel at the beauty of our school. Now I just love looking at pictures of the place! So grand!

    Reply

  3. Natalie
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 07:15:38

    There was a beautiful pic of the main hallway, but it had a copyright on it so I couldn’t borrow it. They actually do tours of the school during the summer! Now that would be fun… Of course, we might get all creeped out because of our dreams and nightmares.

    Reply

  4. Bunn
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:11:52

    We should have checked into that while you were here! I haven’t set foot in HHS since 1982!
    I think I’m ready to go back with appreciation!

    Reply

  5. Kathryn Oberg
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 16:23:51

    I too, have a recurring nightmare of a class that I am not ready for, am late, don’t know what I am doing; it’s either a math class or some science class. And it is up on the floor where the junior college classes used to be held. I wake up exhausted. I still remember when we had to provide our own locks for our lockers, and when the main staircases on the west were designated as “down” stairs and the east were “up”. It was like the book Up the Down Staircase, written back in the late 50s. I graduated in 1960, and always appreciated our wonderful school. I went to the tour during our 50th class runion. Sad to see the football field gone from the south end of the property. Also the big turrets at the front entrance; removed due to structural problems. But nonetheless, a beautiful building.

    Reply

  6. Roberta
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 14:32:42

    Oh my gosh! I too have had dreams like that. Mine over the years pertain to not remembering my locker combo,so therefore not having access to my books and not going to my math class and so because of that not being able to graduate…

    Reply

  7. Ted Gustafson
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 00:27:34

    Ted I recall seeing a poster on the wall which said “Time is passing, are you?’ I recall going to the New Christie Minstrels’ concert. I recall taking a class in the auditorium taught by R.Clark Montgomery (Philosophy) while the new college was being constructed. I recall the old gymnasium, albeit small, with the running track around it above, and I have fond memories of every teacher in that school as our parents and the mining companies gave us the best in education. I have travelled much over North America. I can talk about bowling, curling, wrestling and swimming like most folks never experienced in school. I hope the best for our youth who are in attendance there now. It may seem tough now-you are blessed after you leave Hibbing High School. You will do well in our world. I did pretty good. Class of ’67

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 10:28:13

      Ted, thanks so much for your heart-felt comment — we just love these strolls down memory lane at good ol’ HHS. It sounds as though you were well-launched. By the way, was Mrs. Bohrman teaching English back in ’66 or ’67? I have this feeling that she was there from the beginning of the high school, and probably is still there…

      Reply

  8. Ted Gustafson
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 16:20:33

    Natalie, Mrs. Bohrman was not there when I was in HHS as far as I can tell. In 10th I had Mr. David Vik, in 11th I had Mr. Maynard Hendrickson, and in 12th I had Ms. Mary Motherway. Those are the three English teachers I had in 65, 66, and 67. All were excellent. Learned parallelism which helped in engineering later. My main interests then were in math and science.

    Reply

  9. Carol Johnsrud Hansen
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 19:01:17

    Wow! I also dream that I can’t remember my locker combination and don’t know my class schedule. So strange. My brother wondered about a coffee shop that Clark Montgomery had. And who took it over.

    Reply

  10. vsvevg
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 17:16:09

    very interesting, gorgeous school! I had a recurring dream that occurred in school when I was a child, but I suppose it was because I didn’t like it much, paz, Abby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,142 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

October 2011
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
