And the winner is…..

ME!

For many days, I have been listening to the voices in my head. You know the ones — they say things like, “you can’t…”, “you’d never…”, and “don’t even bother…”.

Well, today I told them to shut up.

I rode my bike for thirty minutes — for the first time in ten days. The last time I rode was when Mark and I went to Maya del Sol for dinner which lasted until closing time, and us just riding tra la la down the dark streets of Oak Park at midnight. With maybe just a little too much wine in our heads…

But then I couldn’t ride for so many reasons: I had a broken spoke on my back tire; it’s just way too hot and humid; I haven’t had my shower yet; who cares anyhow, blah blah blah.

So HA HA I rode today. Take THAT Mrs.Resistance! Bam, punch, pow!

And did you know that Mrs. Resistance is having an affair with The Censor? He’s the voice in my head who tells me that I can’t write! He tells me that I’m so very average; he tells me that I have nothing interesting to say, and nobody wants to hear it anyway. He says my writing is such a bore. He also tells me that I just don’t even have time to write so don’t even attempt it.

Well HA HA Mr. Censor! Here I am writing for the first time in a month, and I bet there’s somebody reading this right now who is smiling. So take THAT Censor! Bam punch pow to you.

Hip hip hooray for me — today I win!

God’s sweetest blessings on you today, dear friend.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark Cramer
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 12:33:30

    Wow! I guess when you were giving me a pep talk you gave one to yourself! Way to go!

    Reply

  2. Dianna
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 07:10:46

    Congrats on riding your bike again!
    And I’m really glad you’re posting again. I really missed you. I think we all get the feeling that we have nothing important to write about, but many of the blog posts that I’ve enjoyed reading the most have been about the simplest of things. So keep writing!
    (And thanks so much for visiting and commenting over at my place! It’s so encouraging….)

    Reply

  3. Jimmy
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 19:04:20

    Reminds me of my favorite Shel Silverstein quote: “Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 64,423 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
