One Strong Belief

The writing prompt today from Ralph Waldo E was to explain a belief that I am passionate about that is not readily shared by my closest family and friends.

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

It would be easy to give a flippant answer to the question.  Afterall as a domestic strategist, I place a great value being organized, frugal and keeping the house tidy.  I could mention how others in my immediate circle are not passionate about picking up their dirty socks, wet towels and undies.  I could rant about the value of dealing with paperwork in a timely manner and filing away the very important documents.  And I could go on and on about the niceness of putting the toilet seat down.  These are some things that I am passionate about.

Somehow, however, I’m thinking that Ralph Waldo E was talking about heavier opinions and thoughts….

I believe passionately that we are made in the image of a loving and creative God.  There are many in my family who would rank us as just a level above the ape world, only a genetic difference or two away from our beloved pets.  Evolution is empty and tasteless to me, not to mention unproved.  We are so much more than the animals of the field and the creatures of the jungle.  We have SOULS for heaven’s sake.  And I mean, for heaven’s sake.

So we don’t sit around arguing about it, for it has been hashed out in years gone by.  I guess I hang onto this belief with the “sweetness of independent solitude” — cherishing the truth in my heart for now.  And someday when all things are brought out into the light, THEN I will say “I told you so!”

Sweetest blessings on you today.  Peace.

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,589 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
