One Sentence about Today

In reply to today’s writing challenge from #Trust30, Ralph Waldo Emerson’s book, Self Reliance.

“Count the smiles, count the tears, but not the fears and not the years.”

We were challenged to write an original thought about today.  That pretty much sums it up for me today.  Part two of the challenge is to say it to someone.  I will put it out on the table when i have a cup of tea with my friend, Linda, today.

Mother Goose is heading out the door to catch a good story for the children.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Paulson Author
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 12:49:07

    If we cant’ rely on our selves then who can we rely on?! Great job here.

    Reply

  2. Dianna
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 13:14:31

    I love that quote – never heard it before. Certainly is good advice!

    Reply

  3. Natalie
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:40:17

    Thanks so much, ladies. I often don’t rely so much on myself, as I rely on other people’s perspectives. It was refreshing for me today to come up with an original sentence — at least I hope it’s original. When we read a lot, pretty soon it’s difficult to remember what we read and what we came up with ourselves. (I could google that sentence and see if it shows up anywhere…..) 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jackie Paulson Author
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:47:32

    Ya know I signed up and don’t get any emails or where do I find the daily thing to blog about? #Trust30 does it come to your email? Now I am so behind. What do I do?

    Reply

  5. Colleen Harvey
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:35:08

    The Colorado State Fair is sponsoring a quilt contest in August 2013 having the theme “Mother Goose Rhymes”. I’d like to make a quilt for the contest based on the image you posted (June 1, 2011, One Sentence About Today) that shows Mother Goose riding on a flying gander. Can you tell me who the artist was, or where the image was published? I’d like to give credit to the original source. Any information you could share would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much! Love your blog–keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Natalie
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 09:50:48

      Hi Colleen, what a lovely quilt you will make! I do not know for sure where I found this image of M.Goose, but the name Ruth Sanderson appears most frequently with the image. Thanks for stopping in and for your kind comments. Good luck and best wishes on your quilt!

      Reply

      • Colleen Harvey
        Jan 28, 2013 @ 15:19:30

        Thanks, Natalie! I found Ruth Sanderson’s web site and have contacted her for permission to use the image. This will be fun! Thanks again for the information.

Leave a Reply

Important Stats for a Goose

  • 63,907 honks to date

What’s New? What’s Old?

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
